Bubble Wrap

8 Jun

Our TV has been going out for months.  Half of the screen goes black, you have to bang the heck out of the bottom, right corner.  If you’re lucky that fixes it, but usually it just causes the screen to flip and the opposite side goes black.  My husband has been trying to convince me we need a new one.  We don’t watch a lot of TV so I can totally deal with only watching half a screen.  Every time he mentions it, “1st world problem” and “I’m pretty sure no parent in Africa has ever uttered those words, ever!” comes out of my mouth.  Then it happened, all of a sudden the screen went from normal to a brilliant display of orange and yellow and then it was no more.  I was sad because the hubs was changing the baby’s diaper and he missed the final moment.

My living room floor is covered in a layer of bubble wrap and there is a new and bigger TV hanging on my wall, I lost the argument.  But I refuse to budge on the “We Don’t Need Cable” stand I took 6 years ago.

My girls have been digging the bubble wrap for the last several hours.  The big one has been popping, stomping, rolling and making contests of who can pop the most bubbles the fastest.  The baby is just happy playing peek-a-boo.  I had fun popping them for about 10 minutes but now I’m totally over the constant noise.

FullSizeRender

This got me thinking, isn’t bubble wrap just like life?  Something so fun and exciting can quickly turn into something so irritating.  How often do we start something new (exercising or eating healthy or a new daily routine) and we’re so gung-ho, but it’s harder than we anticipated and it quickly turns into a pain in the butt and we get discouraged and stop?

I run.  I love working up a sweat and when I hear my running app tell me I’m on mile 4, I feel so accomplished.  As much as I love it tho, I can talk myself out of running in a heartbeat.  Getting motivated is the hardest part but once I’m dressed in my running clothes, it’s game on.

If you’re starting something new, good luck, I wish you success!  You’ll have days where you want to quit.  You’ll have days where the pain is just too much.  If you’re here, I want to encourage you to stick with it.  Take a step back and remember why you decided to start in the first place.  The results will be worth the pain, I promise!

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

