Beautiful

4 Dec

Christmas is fast approaching. When you think of Christmas, do you think of Black Friday, lights, eggnog or presents? Do you think of Jesus? He is what Christmas is all about but somehow we have commercialized it to heck and Jesus has become a second thought to most people.

Sure, we go to the obligatory Christmas service and think about Jesus at least once, I mean hey, we don’t want to look like a total heathen right?!  But do we focus on Jesus?  I’m gonna be honest here and say I don’t focus on him as much as I should. There wouldn’t even be Christmas presents if there wasn’t Jesus.  When I think of Jesus, I can’t help but be thankful for his unconditional love.  If you follow my blog, you will notice that God’s love is a constant theme of my posts.

I was reading in Acts the other day and I came across this nugget.  I have read it several times before but something new stood out to me:

One day Peter and John were going up to the temple at the time of prayer—at three in the afternoon. Now a man who was lame from birth was being carried to the temple gate called Beautiful, where he was put every day to beg from those going into the temple courts.  When he saw Peter and John about to enter, he asked them for money.  Peter looked straight at him, as did John. Then Peter said, “Look at us!”  So the man gave them his attention, expecting to get something from them.

 Then Peter said, “Silver or gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth,walk.”  Taking him by the right hand, he helped him up, and instantly the man’s feet and ankles became strong.  He jumped to his feet and began to walk. Then he went with them into the temple courts, walking and jumping, and praising God.  When all the people saw him walking and praising God, they recognized him as the same man who used to sit begging at the temple gate called Beautiful, and they were filled with wonder and amazement at what had happened to him.  Acts 3: 1-10 NIV

Did you see it?  Sure this is an amazing story about miracles and healing but what stood out to me was the name of the gate.  Did you even notice it?  I’ll wait a sec while you go back up and re-read…BEAUTIFUL!!

This man was begging at the gate.  He was lame and depended on the generosity of others for survival.  He asked Peter and John for money.  That’s all he was hoping for, money; his expectations weren’t very high.  They didn’t give him money but what they gave him was so much more.  In the name of Jesus, he was healed! He was lame since birth so he had never walked before.  Instantly he was walking and jumping and praising God; can you imagine what this must have been like for him?

He asked for  money but instead he received the ability to walk.  He no longer had to beg which I’m sure gave him dignity.  He now had freedom and independence.  He was no longer confined to a spot, he was no longer known as the beggar at the gate called Beautiful.  He was now known as the man who once begged at a spot and was healed in the name of Jesus Christ!  He encountered Jesus at a place called Beautiful…I’ll let that soak in for a minute.

We put limitations on God.  Why?  Do we only ask for little because we don’t think we are worth  more?  Do we think our problem is too big for God and by limiting what we hope to happen we’re preparing ourselves so when it doesn’t work out, we weren’t really expecting it to?

God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.  Eph 3:20 MSG

We need to stop putting limitations on God, He will do so much more…isn’t that BEAUTIFUL?

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

