Unconditional Love

17 Oct

If you had told me 11 years ago how my life would be now, I’d say “you’re crazy.”  Actually I’d say “you’re smoking crack.”  11 years ago I graduated college with a Business degree.  I had no idea what I wanted to do but I knew I wanted to do something Human Resources related and if I could do it on an Excel spreadsheet, even better.

Currently I’m a stay-home-mom.  I’m a cloth diapering, breast feeding, organic baby food making, dinner making, clearance isle shopping mom.  And I love it….MOST days.  There are days when my husband comes home and I hand over the baby and threaten to update my resume.  I love it, but I don’t always like it.  When old people tell me to “cherish every moment” I have to bite my tongue because something nasty is about to come out and I don’t want to cause an old lady to pass out in the pasta isle.

When it’s 2:30am and the baby won’t stop screaming, and feeding, rocking, diaper change, singing, walking, bouncing and whatever else I can think of doesn’t help I promise you I am NOT cherishing this moment.  What I really want to do is throw her outside with the chickens; fear not all you childless readers, I have never done it.  The truth is I love my girls even in their unlovable moments.

The bigger truth is YOU ARE LOVED in your unlovable moments.

Do you think you’ve done something so nasty you can never be forgiven?  Do you feel unworthy?  Do you think you’re you’re damaged goods?  Do you feel like no one sees you?  Are you afraid if people saw the “real” you, they would turn around and run?

The truth is God sees you.  The amazing truth is He sees ALL of you and loves you anyway!!!  You can’t hide from God, but you don’t have to.  He knows all the skeletons in your closet and loves you regardless.  He formed you with love in your mother’s womb.  He is with you and knows when you sit and stand.  He takes your sins and throws them away, He makes you pure, there is nothing you can do to separate you from God.  You are His beloved!

Are you weighed down by shame?  Jesus didn’t walk this earth and defeat death so you would only half live.  You have been set free!  I believe when Jesus was on the cross and yelled “It is finished” He wasn’t just talking about his physical life at that moment.  I believe He meant your suffering right now.  Find rest in this:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  Matthew 11:29-30

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10

Take heart my friend, everything about you is seen and unconditionally loved; no strings attached.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

