Man I Suck!

9 Sep

Ok, most people like to talk about what they do well.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE talking about myself and what I rock at, but I also see the need to talk about failures as well.  If you are a regular reader of my blog, you know that I try to be transparent and honest.  So here goes…

I suck at keeping up with my…wait for it…daily devotional!  There, I said it.  What?!?! I can hear you shrieking out in horror right now.  But Katie, you say, you moved to Austin to help plant a church, your blogs are always talking about God’s love, you’re such a godly woman, you go to church, you’re so awesome, what do you mean you suck at devotionals?!?

Well, thank you for your kind words, but it’s true.  I started the IF:EQUIP daily devotional several months ago when it originally started.  They send you an email with a chunk of scripture to read and then you watch a 3-5 minute video of awesome ladies (Jen Hatmaker, Christine Caine, Angie Smith and Lauren Chandler just to name a few) talking about what they got from it.  I love this because it doesn’t take very long and you get to hear how someone read the same exact thing and got something totally different from it; it’s kinda like 2 devotionals for the price of one.  However, I still have a heck of a time doing it.

I got so far behind that I just stopped.  Then I felt like a bad christian and started back up, but again, got behind.  I have since started for a third time and I’m doing 2 a day to catch up.  When I decided to stay home, I had grand illusions of all the things I wanted to do since I wouldn’t be at a desk job 8-5. I have forgotten how babies are time suckers!  Fingers crossed I’ll keep up this time.

The devil loves that I don’t spend time each morning doing my devotional.  He loves the fact that I keep quitting.  He basks in the glory of my epic devotional failure.  But it’s also a slap in his face when I start back up.  I may not do it each morning, but I’m trucking along and learning and spending time with God.

God isn’t tracking my devotional minutes and shaking his head in disgust.  No, God loves the time I spend with him.  God loves me regardless of my devotional tract record.  His love is unconditional and isn’t based on my actions or who I am.  His love is based on his actions and what he already did. Most “church people” memorize John 3:16 when they are a child “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son so that whoever believes in him will have eternal life.”  I think this verse is so common we forget how ridiculously amazing it is.  God loves us and all he asks in return is for us to love him.  We don’t have to jump through hoops, all we have to do is love.

 

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you..welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

