Dear Technology, I’m sorry

2 Sep

I have fought the world of technology for years now.  I hate change.  I hate learning how to operate a new stuff and I hate having to pay the bill for the fancy new stuff I have no idea how to use.

I refused to text for years; why pay for texting when I can just call?  When I told a friend I have “exciting news” she was sure I was pregnant. Nope, I got texting.  I have been friends with her for years and I can count on 1 hand the number of times we have actually called each other.  I have 2 groups of friends, those that I call and those that I text.  If one of my texting friends calls me I know I’m being butt dialed.

I had a trusty LG Slider cell phone for years.  We enjoyed the best of times and cried together for the worst of times.  This phone was there for me man.  I hated to see it gradually get old.  First it was pictures.  I could no longer post pics to Facebook.  Then the space bar started to stick.  Then the “a” and “n” buttons crapped out so I would punch it 8 times and then 8 “n”s would show up and I’d have to go and delete them.

Brandn’s iPhone started messing up as well so it was time for us both to upgrade.  My husband talked me into getting an iPhone 5s.  I was hesitant and said it was dumb but now I must eat my words.  I am a stay home mom who spends my days with a 4 month old and a 6.5 year old so I feel the whole world NEEDS to see their cuteness at all times.  So before we left the Apple Store, I set up and Instagram account.  We went camping for Labor Day and I knew my people would not rest until they saw pics of our loaded up truck, tent, grill, breakfast, kids, mud, naps and trees….you’re welcome people!

I also have a new guilty pleasure; my Kindle!!  I have talked a lot of smack about digital books and said I prefer to read paper so I can hi-lite (I am a hi-liting fool.)  I know you can hi-lite in a Kindle but I haven’t figured out how to do that yet, remember I said I hated learning how to use new stuff?  Well,  in the last 3 weeks I have devoured 2 books by women who have escaped the FLDS community The Witness Wore Red and Triumph:Life After the Cult and this morning I started Forgotten God.  I have always enjoyed reading but now I like it even more.  I wake up in the middle of the night to feed the baby and then I have to pump.  I can sit on the couch and read without turning on any lights; I feel like I’m getting away with something #badtothebone #hardcore #whatelseamisupposedtodowhilehookeduptoamilkmachine

So here goes, words being eaten: dear iPhone and Kindle, I’m sorry.  You have changed my life forever and I’m so glad I gave you a chance.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

 

Leave a Reply

