If She Could Talk

13 Aug

Two of my favorite things about babies: jammies with feet and fuzzy heads.  I LOVE jammies with feet so much I have a song about them.  A co-worker once told me they “like” jammies with feet because they are “convenient.”  That hurt my heart.  You shouldn’t use them because they are convenient.  You should put them on your babies because they are the cutest things in the world and make your heart happy!  What is better than little monkeys on their butts and monkey paws on their feet?  Nothing, I tell you, nothing.

I also love fuzzy heads.  I hate getting up at 3:30am to feed a cranky baby but after she’s calmed down, I get to snuggle her head.  I sit there with my eyes closed and a smile on my face. With her head resting against my cheek, I sit there and thank God for my girls.  I thank Him for loving me so much he gave me them.  I also pray that I will be the mom he created me to be and the mom they deserve.  My relationship with my own mother was rocky and I pray with all my heart it won’t be that way with them.  I pray they know I love them and they realize they will never lived an unloved moment in their lives.

The other good thing about babies is they don’t talk back.  I get about 18 months of sassy free love.  Sometimes, however, I wish she could talk.

When she was born, I hoped to stay home but we weren’t sure yet if it was possible.  The first 6 weeks she was an angel.  My husband and I finally decided that I would stay home so I had to tell my boss.  The minute I did that, she turned into a major crank monkey.  It’s like she tricked me, pretending to be all cute and good so I would stay home.  Some say 6 weeks is too early to be conniving, but I’m not sure.

She was constantly crying and the only way I could make her happy was to feed her.  I would give her a bottle and then 20 minutes later give her another one.  Now, most people would catch on real quick, but not me.  This went of for about 2 weeks before I finally realized I was starving her!  I was giving her what I thought she needed, not what she actually needed.  Once I upped her milk intake she was better but I was still constantly feeding her so I jumped the gun and added rice cereal to her bottles.  My girl like to eat.  If she would have just said “mamma, I’m still hungry” both of our lives would have been easier.

I rub A&D ointment on her to prevent diaper rash.  The store was out so I had to buy the white Zinc stuff.  The very next diaper change I noticed her tush was red.  I thought it was diaper rash so I slathered the cream on.  I noticed every time I wiped her, she would start screaming.  Not cute baby cry but blood curdling scream.  I knew her tush must hurt from the rash so I would apply more cream.  It took me almost 24 hours to realize the cream was the problem.  Poor thing.  I was liberally applying the very stuff that was causing the redness.  My poor baby.  If she would have just said “stop mamma, that cream hurts” both our lives would have been easier.

You’d think I’m a first time mom, but I’m not.  Its a miracle my first born is 6 1/2 years old.

Dear mammas out there.  You,re amazing!  What you do matters!  Even if you think you suck, I promise it will get better.  Find comfort in the fact that kids don’t remember anything the first few years anyway.  I think God did that on purpose so they won’t remember all the things we did wrong while we were learning how to be mammas.  Wipe your baby’s tears, your tears and then take a deep breath.

You. Are. Awesome.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

2 Responses to “If She Could Talk”

  1. Debbie Campanaro August 14, 2014 at 2:44 am #

    Katie, I think YOU are awesome! AND you’re an awesome mom. 🙂

  2. Sasha August 15, 2014 at 2:06 am #

    Loved the sweet memories and the laugh of their forgetfulness! 🙂 Great post!

Leave a Reply

