Over Achieving Parents

2 Jun

We did it!  We survived the school year and today is the first official day of Summer vacation!  (Insert happy dance here, course, we’ll see how long this excitement lasts, by the end of August I’ll be banging my head on the wall and counting down the days till school starts again.)

We started off the school year with a bang.  I looked in her “red folder” every night and initialed the day’s activities and we did homework.  I’m not the kind of mom that is satisfied with the assignment so of course I added more every day.  Every week I looked in her “Thursday folder” and read all the take home papers and signed and dated it each week.  Her lunches were pack with care and every effort was made to ensure she had something from each food group.  We woke up early every morning so we had plenty of time to walk to school.  We were all smiles, quite the happy little family.

I had a baby in April so school stuff got put on the back burner.  Now, before you check out and call me a bad mom for not placing value in my child’s education, let me tell you she’s in Kindergarten so it’s not like she was missing much.  I think we did homework every other day…maybe, I signed her Thursday folder but the papers got placed in a pile and were recycled without being read.  Forget walking to school.  We were lucky to get her there on time.

Every grading period there was an award ceremony.  She got an award for Reading and Math every 6 weeks but she never received the perfect attendance award, not once.  Her school district allows kids to miss 17 days before they send parents to jail so we took full advantage.  There were kids with perfect attendance for the whole year, seriously!!  Mine missed the first Friday, we didn’t even make it one week before we ruined her shot at perfect attendance.

Perfect attendance has nothing to do with the kids and everything to do with the parents.  I’ve decided kids who have not missed a day of school have over achieving parents.  Most kids would rather stay home so it’s the parents that make them go.  (I guess perfect attendance will increase their chance to get into a good college or something, whatever.)  A kid at school everyday means they went sick at least once; probably the one that made mine sick who then had to miss 2 days till her fever went down, thanks alot!   She missed several days due to Strep throat and also for fun stuff stuff like camping and a hockey game.

Well, it’s summertime now; lets see how this plays out.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

