Superwoman

2 May

Everything to everyone, that is what I’m trying to be. I feel like I need to be the perfect wife and mother.  I feel guilty staying home on maternity leave and I think I need to be earning my keep as a domestic.  No one has put this expectation on me, well, that’s a lie.  I have placed this expectation on myself.  I have the most supportive husband and everyday before he goes off to work he tells me to take a nap and watch 2 movies.  And I’m like, OK Crackhead; I’ll squeeze that in between the dishes, pumping and the laundry.

When our first daughter was born, I overdid it and was back at the doctor’s office within a week.  I’m a slow learner and  I was at the doctor’s office yesterday.  She told me to take it easy; easier said than done.  I think I should be able to do it all despite the fact that I had a baby 17 days ago.

Since Brandn is back at work, I try to get up with Willow every night so he doesn’t have too.  Last night, however, was a different story.  I was up with her for an hour and a half and she was still wide awake.  At that point I let him take over and of course she fell asleep for him.  I also think since I’m home there is no excuse to have dirty dishes or laundry piling up.   My house has no carpet so I’m constantly sweeping; he has threatened to hide all the brooms. This is no joke; dirty floors makes me go crazy.  He was sweeping last night at 9:30 because he knew I would do it today once he left.

I want to be Supermom for Danica.  I don’t want her to feel left out or neglected now that Willow’s here.  I get her up in the morning, fix her hair and lunch and make sure I smother her with kisses before school.  I help her with homework and read to her every night before bed.

To Willow, I have to be everything.  The only 2 things she has mastered are scream till her little face turns purple and poop.  Everything else is up to me till Brandn comes home.

When I go out I don’t want to look like the lady that just had a baby so I make sure my clothes are cute and that I’ve fixed my hair.  Which is interesting because I believe pajamas are perfectly acceptable in public.

Why do I feel the need to prove myself?

I don’ know…I guess I want everyone to think I have it all together.  I normally don’t care what others think of me and I don’t know why it matters now.

Yesterday I realized I’m not Superwoman and it was a hard, emotional day.  Once the tears started they didn’t stop.

The facade stops now.  The truth is I’m a woman that just had a baby and I’m sleep deprived and cranky.  I have sore nipples.  I drink prune juice.  I have unfortunate stitches that are still bleeding and makes it impossible to sit for longer than 15 minutes.  I have dirty floors and I’m self conscious about my weight.

I’m a hot mess and its time to stop hiding it; that takes too much energy and I’m running on a limited supply right now.

 

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

 

One Response to “Superwoman”

  1. lisa Komaniecki May 3, 2014 at 11:36 pm #

    Katie, you are fearfully and wonderfully made by God. I pray you find His peace to let the floor be unswept, rest when you need to, know that you are a superwoman. You gave birth to a beautiful baby, just the thought of creating life with Brandn should amaze you and everyone daily. Know that I and others are praying for you and yours. Love you Lisa (formerly Busbee)

Leave a Reply

