Hello Teacher

24 Aug

So it’s that time of year again…..back to school. Well, actually it’s not an “again” for us; it’s a first. Our sweet little girl, who’s missing her two bottom teeth, is headed to kindergarten. She’s been going to Pre-K for the last 2 years so backpacks, folders and bagged lunches isn’t new to us, but the fact she’s at a real school with a real attendance policy with really big 5th graders is.

photo (13)

We met the teacher the other night. I headed there straight from work and I realized I had a problem on my hands. You see, for some reason unknown to me, I actually dressed professionally that day. The first impression the teacher will have of me is I’m professional……um, so NOT me! I didn’t want to set the bar too high so I texted Brandn at the last minute asking him to bring my Toms, to make my outfit more “Katie.”

A teacher can learn a lot about the child by meeting the parents. I didn’t want her to size me up as a serious, put together kind of mom. I was hoping my outfit conveyed the message that I work so I won’t be the “crafty, class mom” and that if I’m supposed to bring something that day I will probably leave it sitting by the door where I obviously left it so it wouldn’t be forgotten. I’m the mom that will drop Danica off on time but will most likely expose herself to the students b/c when I wear dresses, they end up tucked in my panties quite often.

I’m entrusting my sweet daughter to her teacher. Her teacher, whose name I have already forgotten, is super sweet and gives off a good vibe. She’s young so she has a lot of energy and still believes she can impact the kids and make a difference in their lives. She hasn’t become calloused like the poor teachers that have to deal with stinky, know-it-all, teenagers.

I get to drop her off every day at school. I almost cried when I realized this. I won’t be able to pick her up so dropping her off is huge. She’s still young and I’m still cool and not embarrassing. I want her to have a kiss, a hug and a smile from me last thing before she heads off to face the tough day of coloring, reading and sharing. I know the day will come when she asks me to stay in the car and not walk her to the door. I will die a little and after my crying fit, I will spend the rest of the day plotting my sweet revenge for tomorrow morning. That day is not today so I will enjoy the sweet kisses while they last.

Here is my prayer for her:
Lord, watch over Danica. Let her day be filled with wonder and new things. Help her make friends and get along with others. Let her not compromise herself to fit in. Help her to remember what is right and wrong and to choose right. Give her strength to defend herself and others against bullies. When the test is hard, let her remember she is smart. When girls are mean, let her remember she is loved. When boys are smooth, let her remember they are dumb. When she’s overwhelmed, let her remember your peace. Please help her to remember she is not alone and You are with her when momma and papa are not. Keep her safe and let her get really smart so when we’re old; she can afford to put us in a luxury nursing home.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

