Video

730 Days

13 Aug

What is 730 days? Well I’ll tell you; its’ the number of days that Brandn, Danica and I have lived here. Moving to Austin, heck, leaving San Angelo NEVER crossed our minds, EVER.

730 days ago we loaded up our truck for the final time and headed out. We moved here to help plant Revive Church. We left family, friends, jobs, insurance and our first home to part of this roller coaster ride. It looked crazy to many people but when God tells you to go, you go.

So what have I learned? Well I’ll keep it short. It was 2 years ya’ll. If I told you everything you’d still be reading it on our 3 year anniversary. Read them, they aren’t boring, I promise!

  • I’ve learned to trust God. I know that is the typical church planter response but it’s so true. He was behind everything and made sure all the pieces fell together to get us here. I have had to remind myself that He didn’t bring us here only to forget about us. When I think of how my life might be easier if we still lived in San Angelo, I remind myself that God’s past faithfulness is proof of His future faithfulness.
  • I’ve learned to communicate better with Brandn. I like to talk; good thing Brandn likes to listen. (That was sarcasm at its finest!) I think that’s one reason I started blogging; so I can share my opinions with the world! You’re welcome.  This life changing event left my emotions all over the place and Brandn was the one person I had to talk them all out with. They say (just who exactly are “they” anyway?) They say women speak 20,000 words a day and my poor husband got stuck listening to …probably…..126, 743 of them. There were way too many thoughts I needed to talk out so I learned to tell Brandn things I never would; I had to lean on him in ways I never had before.
  • It’s not all about me. What?!?!?! My eyes have been opened to people in need. I’m judgmental; I haven’t been completely delivered from this one yet, but I’m less judgmental now. I see a homeless person and I don’t automatically think, “stinky bum, get a job,” like I used to. I literally cry over orphans and have I realized there are little kids in my own community that need help and guess what, I can help them! Insert Happy Dance.  Be jealous of my moves!
  • I say “seriously” a lot. Like I said my emotions are all over the place and I have decided “seriously” is an appropriate substitute for cussing.
  • I-35 isn’t as scary as it used to be. This is how I used to drive on 35, enjoy. Now I’m cool, calm and collected. Not really. I still freak out and yell “seriously” a lot.
  • I’m obsessed with recycling and I have come up with some pretty creative ways to conserve water.
  • My clothes don’t have to match! I know this sentence may cause some of you to break out into hives and start sweating profusely. I however find it liberating and I’m passing this realization to my daughter. It’s obvious everyday who dressed her. If either she or I pick her clothes, she doesn’t match; if Brandn picks them, she does. This morning she wore a pink, short dress with watermelons on it and a sky-blue skirt with rainbow peace signs…1 guess as to who DIDN’T dressed her!
  • Having a garden, chickens, the start of a rain water collection system and 15 fruit trees/bushes (not exaggerating, we counted) in your back yard, doesn’t make you weird. It makes you fun!

I’ve spent a lot of the last 2 years dizzy and wanting to puke; but I wouldn’t trade it for a minute.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you….welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

