Reality Check

1 Aug

Nothing pulls you out of an “I’m entitled to” party faster than any sentence from the book The Hole in Our Gospel. It’s by Rich Stearns, the President of World Vision; I’ve blogged about it before and I promise you I’ll blog about it again. I picked up this book for at least the 3rd time with the intent on finishing it this time. I must finish it so I can start on my next book, Radical.

You see, I’m a temp at work and I had a meeting with my boss to discuss my permanent employment status. These words weren’t spoken but I left the meeting realizing she’s not going to offer me permanent employment and I’ll be a temp as long as I’m there. I was mad, no mad is an understatement. I was extremely livid; my pride and my feelings were hurt. I was honest during the meeting and I had a hunch my honesty would probably bite me in the butt. Well, I was right, it bit hard.  I left fuming, thinking “I’ve been working my butt off for over 4 months…I have a degree and all I get paid is THIS…I’ll just stay home tomorrow and see how she likes that.” I also envisioned ripping her head off and impaling it on the flag pole out front. Did I mention I was mad?

I wanted permanent status for the pay raise, insurance and the feeling that the company was committed to me. All of these things are very important but really I just wanted them because I felt entitled to them; I…deserved…them. My pride took a blow and I felt embarrassed that I was still a “temp.” The decision to keep me a temp had nothing to do with my work performance. I’ll keep the reason out of this blog because I don’t want people’s opinions on what I should have/should not have done. This is my blog so I’ll be the one throwing out opinions here.  🙂

  • 1 out of 4 children in developing countries is underweight, and some 350-400 million children are hungry. A child dies every 5 seconds due to hunger related causes.
  • As many as 5 million people die every year of water-related illnesses.  This creates a no win situation for millions of parents – they either watch helplessly as their children die from lack of water or they can watch them die from diarrhea because the only water they have is tainted.
  • 1.5 – 2.7 million people die each year from from Malaria – something preventable and curable.
  • AIDS has now caused 15 million orphans.  In Africa they say when it comes to HIV, everyone is either infected or affected – no one escapes completely.
  • In the US 2 out of every 1,000 children die before their 5th birthday; in Africa it’s 165 out of 1,000.

Well damn!!! These are stats from The Hole in Out Gospel, stats that I read the same day as my meeting. I can’t get all worked up over a pay raise when I’m reminded of this.  I know these stats exist but I push them to the back of my brain because it’s so overwhelming.  Or maybe it’s because Africa is thousands of miles away and it doesn’t impact me directly and it’s not my child, so it’s easy to turn a blind eye.

So what are we going to do about it?  That’s right, I said WE; you and me.

Don’t fail to do something just because you can’t do everything.  For just $35/month you can sponsor a child through World Vision.

Your sponsorship provides food, clean water, medical care, clothes, and education.  Education is the key to lifting families out of poverty.  Because the kids have clean water in their village, they no longer spend hours a day walking miles to a dirty water source.  Nope, they have their day back, now they have time for school.  They also learn about the love of Christ.  Most of these children don’t have parents so they don’t comprehend love; especially a loving Father, God, whom they have never met.  But they get the fact that a complete stranger on the other side of the world (probably someone crazy like me who cried like a blubbering idiot over a sweet little boy named “Goodluck Alfred”) sponsors/sends letters and pictures/cares for them and this helps them understand what love is.

A brilliant man named Bono said ” We can be the generation that no longer accepts that an accident of latitude determines whether a child lives or dies.

If World Vision isn’t your thing that’s cool.  Next time you’re at the store, buy fair trade coffee.  Next time you buy a pair of shoes, buy Toms.  Next time you buy jewelry, buy something handmade from a woman in a 3rd world country trying to make an honest, dignified income.  Buy local; support the small business owners living in your community or contact the local Foster Children office and see how they need help….we’re all in this together ya’ll.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

