That Mom

12 May

Today is Mother’s Day.  Let me start out by saying Happy Mother’s Day to all the mom’s out there.  I know today can bring out all kinds of emotions so whatever kind of day you are having, I hope you smile.  🙂  I have 3 mom’s in my life that have poured into me and shaped me.  They’ve taught me how to be and how not to be and what to say and what not to say.  I wouldn’t be who I am today if it weren’t for these ladies.  So let me just say mom, Debbie and Winkay Happy Mother’s Day and I love you.

Today’s blog isn’t dedicated to any of the lovely ladies mentioned above.  It’s dedicated to “That Mom.”  If you have a child in school you know what I mean.  I want to be “That Mom,” but Brandn won’t let me.  He was in charge of getting the Halloween, Valentine’s Day and Easter candy for her class; last year I bought rasins.  The desire of my heart is to be a stay home mom.  God promises me that if I delight in Him, He will grant me the desires of my heart and you better believe I quote this back to him in my prayers.  I would so be the mom that brings Kombucha and home made granola for my kid’s birthday celebrations.  I would also ride bikes to take them to school and pick them up.

Danica had a play date the other day and the girl’s mom is “That Mom” in her class; but not the hippie kind I aspire to be…she’s the Pintrest kind.  I told Brandn I was gonna have to buy a prom dress for this play date because I didn’t think my Toms and $1 garage sale dress was gonna cut it.  (Don’t worry; I didn’t dress up for her.  I was myself and totally rocked my support third world countries accessories.)  When this little girl turned 5 her mom mailed out official party invitations.  Seriously!  I’ve never mailed out an invitation in my life!  Danica’s 5th birthday was awesome.  We went out of town with some family members and I made a box of cupcakes; that’s it…done.  Not this mom.  The invitations had a picture of the birthday girl wearing a dress that was fancier than my wedding dress and the party was a fancy-schmancy evening party. For Valentine’s Day, she made every one a stuffed monkey with their name embroidered on it and for Easter she made everyone an egg water bottle with their initial on it.

I’m not dissing this mom; I just don’t get her. But that’s ok.  I don’t have to get her; God gets her.  God loves her; He created her just the way she is. All moms are different and God made each of us unique.  If we were all the same our kids wouldn’t have any “my mother is worse than yours” stories.  Right now Danica still thinks I’m cool but I’m fully prepared for the day when she pretends she doesn’t know me; and on the following day I’ll make her ride a bicycle built for 2 to school.

Happy Mother’s Day!!!!!!

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you….welcome to my brain.

Leave a comment