Harvest Rains

11 Mar

Usually in the Bible, where a storm is mentioned, there is turmoil:

Noah – everyone was evil, the whole earth was flooded.
Jonah – ran from God, thrown overboard, swallowed by a huge fish.
Peter – took his eyes off Jesus and sank.
Sea of Galilee – the disciples freaked out, Jesus spoke and the storm stopped

I’m not talking about storms today; I’m talking about rain……huge difference.

James 5:7 – Be patient, then, brothers and sisters, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop, patiently waiting for the autumn and spring rains.

Isaiah 30:23 – He will also send you rain for the seed you sow in the ground, and the food that comes from the land will be rich and plentiful. In that day your cattle will graze in broad meadows.

Hosea 6:3 – Let us acknowledge the LORD; let us press on to acknowledge him. As surely as the sun rises, he will appear; he will come to us like the winter rains, like the spring rains that water the earth.

I held desperately clung to Hosea 6:3 the last few weeks.  God can’t lie:  God is not a man, so he does not lie. He is not human, so he does not change his mind. Has he ever spoken and failed to act? Has he ever promised and not carried it through? – Numbers 23:19.  The Bible is full of promises, and since God can’t lie, I knew without a doubt that since the sun was gonna rise tomorrow, my harvest rain was on it’s way; I just had to be patient.

I have a job;  it was a huge blessing from God and it fell into my lap just in time.  This job; however, was making me, my husband and my daughter miserable.  I needed a new one.   I would apply for jobs and get rejection letter after rejection letter.  I can only handle reading “thanks but we have decided to go with someone who is a better fit” so many times before I get totally discouraged and stop looking.  But then I would reach my breaking point and start looking again; then get more letters and stop.  Employers would read my resume or interview me and decide to hire someone else because they were better than me; I wasn’t good enough to be hired.  You read something often and long enough and you start to believe it. (And by “you” I mean “me.”)  I don’t take rejection well.

You know the saying “It’s not personal, it’s business?”  Well that’s a bunch of crap; it is personal!!  I know when I wasn’t chosen for a job it was because “God just has a better job out there for you” or “this just makes you one job closer to the one God has for you.”  I know that is true, but seriously?!?!  My friends have learned not to say this; they just smile and say I’ll pray for you. lol

This madning cycle lasted 1.5 years.  Once I discoverd Hosea 6:3 I didn’t let go.  I would quote it back to God in my prayer time.  I told God I know the sun is gonna rise tomorrow so I thank you for the harvest rain you have in store for me and my family.

Just like God promised, He delivered.

I start my new job in 9 days!!  Whoo-hooo, insert happy dance!!  I’m so excited about this job and this company.  Not to mention that it’s 2 miles from my house which means my 1 hour commute to work (on a good day) will soon be over and since it’s so close I plan on riding my bike; this actually makes me the happiest.

If you are stuck inbetween the harvest rains or if you feel invisible to God or think He doesn’t care; He does.  He…..sees…..you.   Smile and take heart my friend, your rain is on it’s way.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you….welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

