Life Lessons Learned on a Bike Ride

21 Feb

Poor Danica.

She can’t do anything without having to listen to me turn it into a life lesson.  I take pride in my skill, (yah, yah, I know, pride before tha fall.)  I’m not sure what I like better; the fact that I’m teaching her things or the sound of my own voice.  I give my dad full credit for this.  No, he didn’t turn everything into a life lesson; his skill was telling me how everything went back to the Roman Empire, a Latin root word or something to do with Physics or calculus.  He totally reminds me of Mr Portokalos,  the dad from My Big Fat Greek Wedding, but without the Windex. 

There you go!

 Ok, back to Danica.  We went for some exercise the other day.  She likes to ride her Brave tricycle while I run.  We have good sidewalks and a convenience store exactly 1 mile down the street so we go there and back.  My daughter isn’t the most athletic thing, but she’s cute and she tries.  We were going against the wind  (naturally, I was singing the Bob Seger song.)   I couldn’t see her shadow anymore.  I turned around and she was pretty far behind me and moving very slow.  She said the wind was pushing her backwards.  She was trying to pedal but she wasn’t trying  hard enough for my liking.  I told her to her she needs to “dig deep.”  When things get hard you can’t just quit, that’s when you have to give it all you’ve got and keep fighting.  When life pushes against you, are you gonna let it push you down or are you gonna stand up and punch it in the face?”  She said she wants to punch it.

Moving on.  We were almost to the convenience store now.  There is a slight hill and she was going really fast.  We were slowing down at the intersection and the next thing I knew she had crashed and was half on the curb and half on the road.  I knew what happened but like a good mom I asked what happened anyway.

Through the tears she tells me she “got distracted by the big sand pile that is never here but it’s here today.”  I hug her and tell her to shake it off.  She just stares at me.  I tell her again to shake it off and then I start shaking my booty.  This gets her laughing and moving and we are having a dance party right there on the sidewalk.  Then she says she wants to go home.  I show her the convenience store and tell her we are one block away and ask if she wants to accomplish our goal or be cry baby quitters…she says she wants to quit.   Oh no….this is not acceptable!  I tell her wrong answer.

She then shows me a scratch on her hand and says she needs a band-aid.  It’s not bleeding and our rule is if it’s not bleeding, you don’t need a band-aid.  I decide this isn’t the best time to enforce the band-aid rule so I do what any good mother would do….I bribe her!!  I tell her if she rides to the store she can have the band-aid when we get home…success!

The rest of the way home I pump her up and tell her how proud I am.  I reiterate the fact that when life gets hard, we dig deep and pedal harder and when life knocks us down, we get up, shake our booty and carry on.

Photo: D enjoying her Christmas present.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you….welcome to my brain.

2 Responses to “Life Lessons Learned on a Bike Ride”

  1. Debbie February 21, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    Genius!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Nancy February 21, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    I so cracked up over this – having sat through many a dissertation from your father, I knew EXACTLY what you meant. At least D isn’t old enough to roll her eyes at you and tell you to “let it go, Mom.” She is definitely fodder for your blog, LOL..love, Auntie N

Leave a Reply

