Book Review….Kisses from Katie

14 Feb

I just finished Kisses from Katie. I have to say this book is ridiculous and everyone should read it.  Disclaimer: I am not a book reviewer and no one is paying me to write this. 😉  I just think more people should be aware of this story. 

I am one of those people that hi-lite books. I know you anti-hi-liting people out there hate people like me but I can’t help it. I think if I hi-lite something, it will jump out later when I’m flipping through the pages. This is only true if I hi-lite a few points…..at least half this book is now blue!! I will never be able to find anything b/c everything stood out to me.

Like I said, you should read this book. It’s the story of a girl from Brentwood, Tennessee and how she opens her life up to God and moves to Uganda to be a kindergarten teacher for 1 year. She ends up staying there and adopts 14 girls, teaches at the school and feeds hundreds of kids daily and starts a non-profit organization that provides honest and dignified employment for women which empowers them and pulls them our of poverty which hopefully will break the cycle for their children.

Parts of this book will rip your heart out and make you wonder why God would allow such horrific things to happen. But then you see the beauty of it and how God moves through everything and how He can turn ugly to beautiful in the way only He can. There was a part I read (“read” may not be the correct word; I blubbered my way through it and then handed the book over b/c I couldn’t stop crying) out loud to my women’s group about how she came across her 12th and 13th girls. It starts out with Katie telling God no more kids; 11 is enough. But then God tells her, she will adopt a girl named Sarah. Well she didn’t know who Sara was but she started loving, longing for, and missing her. Knowing her daughter was out there somewhere broke her heart b/c she knew Sara needed her. She prayed God I know she’s out there and I can’t stand it so you better bring her to my door. Well, guess who show showed up at her door the next day? Sara! She ended up adopting Sara and her sister as well.

This book is not a book advocating moving to a third world country and adopting kids; nor is it a book bragging about what she is doing. Katie is so humbled and can’t get over the fact that God would use someone like her for His glory. This is simply a book talking about God’s love for His people. God’s greatest commandment is this: Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. The second is this: Love your neighbor as yourself. There is no commandment greater than these. – Mark 12:31-33.

This book has touched my soul. I have no idea how to love my neighbor as myself. My prayer is that when opportunities present themselves, my eyes are open to see them, my ears are open to hear them, and my heart is open to care.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…..welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

