Thankfullgivingness

22 Nov

Thankfulness. I’m thankful for so many things but sometimes it’s hard to tell that because I’m too busy complaining. Throughout November,I’ve noticed several people posting what they are thankful for on faceBook and I refused to do the same because I didn’t want to jump on the band wagon. So, I’m being TOTALLY original and blogging about what I’m thankful for and posting it on Thanksgiving. A day that, millions of people around the wold, have designated as the day we all come together and tell everyone what we are thankful for. (Can you fell the sarcasm?)

I’m thankful for God’s love. I’m a Pastor’s wife so I have to say that first, right? 🙂 It’s true. He loved me from day one. There are days when I’m not exactly easy to deal with; heck, lets be honest….there are days when even I think I’m being obnoxious and I would get away from me if I could. But He still loves me. He loved me so much that He sent His son to die for me. His son loved me so much that He was willing to die for me. But it doesn’t stop there. His son LOVES (present tense) me so much that He wants to live in my heart.

I’m thankful for my husband. He loves and supports me. He keeps me sane when all I want to do is go crazy. Right now, you’re probably thinking “Ummm…she thinks she’s sane?!?” Yes, yes I do. It could be much worse so you should be thankful for him too. He makes me feel safe. He makes laugh and he has brilliant timing for quoting me scripture exactly when I don’t want to hear it. Love you babe.  So glad you asked and so glad I said yes!

I’m thankful for my daughter. She has taught me unconditional love. She cracks me up and she’s WAY too smart for her own good. She grows me daily. She pats my back when I’m sad and she likes to watch me drive away each morning. Since moving to Round Rock, she has developed a passion, or obsession, with recycling; which I have to say makes me quite happy. While at my Nana’s funeral, the priest was talking about our duties as Christians. Danica got all excited and said “Mamma, he said “duty!”” This made me so proud! Some of you may thing I’m being sarcastic, I’m not. It really made me proud because I do the same thing. lol

I’m thankful for Revive and my Revive Church family. You guys are awesome! I love our women’s community group and the ladies that I share life with. I love that Danica calls Rachel “Grandma Ortiz.” One of the hardest parts about moving to Austin was taking Danica away from her grandmas in San Angelo. Well, Rachel is part of our family and loves Danica, and Danica loves her. I love that these ladies know the real me, and are my friends anyway. I love that they remind me I’m not a bad mom. I love that we will watch each other’s kids even if it’s last minute. I love that we can cry together and make fun of ourselves 5 minutes later for crying. I love that we do this crazy thing called life together.

I’m thankful for Pandora. The last 4 songs my station played are “All I Want For Christmas” by Mariah Carey, “Don’t Look Back in Anger” by Oasis, “After All Holy” by The David Crowder Band and “Summer Breeze” by Seals 7 Crofts.

I’m thankful for my house. We went through months of crap but we finally got a house and it was totally worth the wait. God blessed us with a huge, beautiful house and we are trying to figure out how to bless God and others with it.

I am so blessed and I need to be thankful more often and complain less.

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. – James 1:17 NIV

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

