Earth Wind and Fire

17 Aug

2 blogs in 2 days…I think I just set a personal record. lol

1 Kings 19:11-14 (MSG) – Then he was told, “Go, stand on the mountain at attention before GOD. GOD will pass by.” A hurricane wind ripped through the mountains and shattered the rocks before GOD, but GOD wasn’t to be found in the wind; after the wind an earthquake, but GOD wasn’t in the earthquake; and after the earthquake fire, but GOD wasn’t in the fire; and after the fire a gentle and quiet whisper. When Elijah heard the quiet voice, he muffled his face with his great cloak, went to the mouth of the cave, and stood there. A quiet voice asked, “So Elijah, now tell me, what are you doing here?” Elijah said it again, “I’ve been working my heart out for GOD, the GOD-of-the-Angel-Armies, because the people of Israel have abandoned your covenant, destroyed your places of worship, and murdered your prophets. I’m the only one left, and now they’re trying to kill me.”

This happened right after Elijah had his showdown with the Baal worshipers on Mount Carmel. Click here for that story. After this, he feared for his life, ran and had himself pity party. I am not belittling him; I am the queen of throwing pity parties. (There’s always punch and cupcakes at mine. 😉 ) He probably had one of the highest-highs of his life and it was immediately followed by one of the lowest-lows. He desperately needed to hear from God and be encouraged.

How many of you are in the same place? Are you waiting to hear from God? Are you waiting for some grand miracle? If you are, you may miss the small miracle He has for you.

God spoke to Elijah in a whisper; NOT in the wind, earthquake or fire, but in the whisper. If we put all our focus in the big stuff we will miss the subtleness of God.

Have you heard the voice of God? I have; once. I’ve heard confirmation from Him through others but I’ve only heard Him talk to me once and it wasn’t in any big way. It was on a Saturday. I was cleaning the house which means I wasn’t in a good mood b/c I always get cranky when it’s time to clean and I usually take out that aggression on my husband and daughter, and then I throw a bunch of crap away; sorry guys.

A friend of mine just lost a family member and she was heartbroken. I was changing the sheets and praying for her at the same time. I was in the zone, multi-tasking and getting it done; and then I heard Him. I heard Him say “you can’t even stop what you are doing long enough to focus on me and pray for your friend.” SLAP…..ouch! Have I mentioned God slaps me a lot? lol

I dropped to my knees crying. God was right. I thought I was too busy to stop and pray, I wanted to pray, get it done and move on. I felt like crappy Christian and a crappy friend; I had to apologize for not giving God my full attention.

God spoke to me. There were no harps, trumpets or angels singing in the sunshine with their hair flowing ever so slightly in the breeze. Nope. It was just a gentle voice.

If you’re waiting on Him, let me encourage you; He WILL answer. Just be patient, seek Him and listen.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

