Crack houses and foundation

19 Jun

Forgive me.  It’s been 8 days since my last blog.  The pause in my posting isn’t due to lack of inspiration it’s due to lack of free time.  I generally blog in the evening when I have some time to sit on my couch and just chill, till the next episode.  (If you know me you know I’m singing a sing right now.)  The last 3 weeks all my free time has been consumed with looking online at houses and driving around Austin looking at those houses.  Let me tell you, that was stressful!

We would see a house online that looked nice.  We would find several in the area and then drive over to see them and get a feel for the neighborhood.  Let me just say this: B has a CHL but he wasn’t packing one day and we were afraid we would be jumped.  At some houses we couldn’t tell if they were empty or if the people who lived there forgot to cut the grass for 2 years.  Seriously, you could see the weeds over the 6 foot privacy fence.  While looking at one house I sent a text to a friend telling her we were peeking in windows to see if the house was empty so please pray that it is so we don’t get shot.  When I tell people the only houses in Austin we can afford are crack houses, they think I’m speaking in hyperboles.  I tend to do that, but this time I’m serious.

We found a cool house but it had several small things wrong with it.  By themselves, these things aren’t a big deal but all of them combined was a bad sign.  Brandn was researching the house and he found a report stating the foundation had settled around the edges up to 1 and 5/8 of an inch.  So the foundation was off and that caused a chain reaction of things to go wrong inside the house.  In order for the house to function properly, the foundation needed to be fixed.

That got me thinking; I knew there was a blog in there somewhere…

What is your foundation built on?  I’m not talking about your house, I’m talking about YOU.

“Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say? I will show you what he is like who comes to me and hears my words and puts them into practice. He is like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built. But the one who hears my words and does not put them into practice is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation. The moment the torrent struck that house, it collapsed and its destruction was complete.”  Luke 6: 46-49

Is your foundation built on truth or lies?  Do you realize you were made in the image of a holy, heavenly father or do you think you are worthless?  If your foundation is off it will cause everything else to be off.  When you look within, do you like what you see or do you pick yourself apart?  When Jesus looks at you, He sees the ugly, hidden truth that you hide from everyone else and He loves you anyway!!

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.


Leave a Reply

