Don’t quote me scripture

31 May

When it comes to my friends and family, I’m an optimistic, when it comes to myself I’m worse than a pessimistic.

I can blow smoke up any body’s butt.  I can encourage you and be your biggest cheerleader.  I can quote scripture, and believe it.  I can pray for/with you and fully believe the prayers will be answered.  I can turn tears into laughter…I can do all that for other people.  I believe the glass is half full and we can fill the other half with rainbows, butterflies and bubbles.

When it comes to me, I’m 100% doom and gloom.  I think the glass is half empty.  Correction.  I KNOW the glass is bone dry and I will throw it across the room and shatter it on the wall so it will be broken into 1 million pieces and never hold water again.  You think I’m exaggerating, I tend to do that, but this is no exaggeration.

Why is this?  Why do I believe things will work out for other people but not me?  I know God sees me.  I know God hears me.  I know He loves me and will never leave me.  So why do I have so little faith?  Good question.

Last night sucked and the suckiness spilled over into this morning.  I cried all the way to work and what was supposed to be a “thank-you for being thoughtful” message to someone turned into a “the end of the world cry-fest.”  His response???  A very sincere, heart-felt, much appreciated prayer.  He prayed for Brandn and me.  I have literally prayed some of those exact words over other people and believed with all my heart those words were true.  So why do I not believe them to be true for me?  I guess it’s easier to stay in my state of panic than it is to pull out of it.  When I get in this state of mind I find I can pull out of it by praying for other people, it takes my focus off me and my issue.

When I start honoring God and praying for other people it reminds all these good things and promises God has for others, He has for me too.

Will this teach me a lesson and help me to not freak out in the future?   Ummm…..NO.  That’s part of me.  I freak out when ever money is involved and money is always involved so I always freak out.  When I am freaking out, if you (and by “you” I mean Brandn) quote me scripture, I will punch you.  Brandn has recently learned NOT to quote me Matthew 6 or Philippians 4:6 but instead to say “you’re right, this does suck but we will get through it.”  This usually makes me laugh and I start pulling through soon after.

This verse got me through some rough times, I hope it does the same for you: “Love the Lord you godly ones for the Lord protects those that are faithful to Him.” – Psalms 31:23

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

One Response to “Don’t quote me scripture”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What do you do when… | ridiculouskatie - June 19, 2013

    […] risking getting punched in the face. Normally I don’t want to be quoted scripture, read that blog here. This time, however, I’m finding peace in scripture – God’s word provided peace and comfort; […]

Leave a Reply

