Bumper + sticker = dumb

6 Apr

I sit in traffic for about 1.5 hours every day. I see a lot of cars and I have come to the conclusion that a car is not a good place to make a political/personal statement. I think most bumper stickers just make you look dumb.

I was behind a car with a bumper sticker that read “If it’s not a baby, you’re not a mom.” I’m not sure exactly what that means but I took it as some hateful, anti-abortion statement.  I am pro-life but my approach is not to bash the woman that has made the hard choice to have an abortion, it’s to love her anyway.

I used to be one of those people that had strong opinions against abortion and would voice my opinion very loud and very proud.  But then I started reading the Bible and realized I needed to shut up…Even fools are thought wise when they keep silent; with their mouths shut, they seem intelligent – Prov 17:28…Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to get angry – James 1:19…A fool takes no pleasure in understanding, but only in expressing his opinion – Prov 18:2.

I personally don’t know what it must be like to feel that having an abortion is your only option.  I can’t imagine how painful and hard that decision must be.  The girls and women that are at that place don’t need a lecture, they need a hug and need to be reminded they are special and loved.  Does standing across from Planned Parenthood, holding a sign and yelling hateful things at the scared women walking in the building make you any better?  No, it makes you a jerk.

There is a time, a place and an approach to speak you mind.  Did Jesus yell at the woman caught in adultery and make her feel horrible about her choices?  No.  He doodled something in the sand and made the vocal and judgmental people feel stupid.  But Jesus showed her love.  He said “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”  “No one, sir,” she said.  “Then neither do I condemn you, ” Jesus declared. “Go now and leave your life of sin.”  –  John 8.

Jesus didn’t condemn this woman, he showed her compassion, love and mercy.  Why do we feel it’s our “God-given right” to speak our mind and judge people?  When we do this do you think it makes Jesus happy?  I think it makes him sad.  What I think makes Jesus happy is when we embrace the lonely, when we stand up for the oppressed, when we speak for the voiceless.  When we show love when others show hate.

I’ve said some pretty hurtful things in the past that embarrasses me.  I’ve hurt women that I love dearly when I foolishly ran my mouth about abortion.  I can’t take those things back but I can move forward in love.  I hope that Jesus can be seen in me.  I hope that when I open my mouth, love comes out, not hurtful crap.  I’m a work in progress.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

One Response to “Bumper + sticker = dumb”

  1. smart repair April 7, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    I appreciate, lead to I found just what I used to be taking a look for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

Leave a Reply

