So what you’re saying is…

25 Mar

Ok. So I realize most of my posts revolve around the Old Testament. That’s because I’m in the OT in my daily reading plan.  Well I have a surprise for you today.  Not a surprise like I’m giving Starbucks gift crds to the first 5 people who comment on my status.  That would be awesome but my surprise is I’m going NT.  I know right?!?

A friend posted a Bible verse the other day.  Not a “Facebook” friend but a real friend.  She is way younger than me but very inspiring.  This is what she posted – Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns.  Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.  Philippians 4:6-7 (MSG).  This is a different version of that same verse – Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.   And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus (NIV)

I know this verse.  I tend to interpret is as don’t be anxious because it will all work out.  You may not understand it right now, but it will work out.  That’s the happy, easy interpretation.  Where I don’t have to do anything and God will fix it

But looking at it the other day something new stuck out to me….”thanksgiving.”  Ok, so I have to give thanks for the things that are causing me anxiety?!?  Yep, I think so.  So what you’re saying is I’m supposed to be thankful for the job that causes me to stress out and cry sometimes?  I’m supposed to be thankful for the financial hardships that come my way?  I should give thanks when B and I don’t see eye to eye and I want this but he wants that?  Or give thanks when your house has been on the market for months and not selling or when your teenager is out all night long doing things to drive you crazy or when your spouse isn’t quite where you want them to be?  We have to give thanks for that?  It kinda looks that way.

Why should we thank God for the bad things?  Well I don’t thank God for the bad things but I do thank God for all the good things.  And when I’m in the middle of something not so great I can’t see what God is doing.  But when I’m out of it and I look back, I can then see how all things work together and God was moving the whole time.  Then I give thanks for what I learned or how I grew or how God never left my side.

I’m working on having a new perspective.  I’m learning how to focus on the good and not the bad.  I’m learning how to enjoy the quiet and not freak out about what I’m gonna do when the quiet ends.  God says give thanks, so that’s what I’m learning how to do even when I don’t want to.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

One Response to “So what you’re saying is…”

  1. 8 Kids And A Business March 25, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    St. Therese of Liseux says that “everything is grace”, even the bad stuff, because through them we realize our weakness and humility and learn to trust in God. So, it’s good to thank God for the bad stuff , because He has allowed it in order that we may learn to depend on Him.

Leave a Reply

