Patterns and Lies

16 Mar

So, still reading the Bible. Now I’m in Judges. I like this book because it’s about people; not dividing the land or how to become clean after touching a dead animal.

We watched the TV show Touch last night (very cool show; I’m afraid I might be hooked.) One character talked about how everything in the world is made up of patterns but not everyone can see or recognize them. Well Judges has a pattern. Joshua, the guy that led them into the Promise land, died and Israel didn’t have a leader so they turned away from the Lord….every time I say Joshua I think of Rachel from Friends and the wedding dress episode…sorry, I digress.

Ok back to patterns. So Joshua died –> they turned away from the Lord and worshiped other Gods and idols –>God punished them and there was no peace –> they repented and cried out to God –> God heard them –> sent them a Godly leader –> they followed God and the land had peace –> the leader died–> they turned away from the Lord and worshiped other Gods and idols –> God punished them and there was no peace –> they repented and cried out to God –> God heard them…Notice the pattern? I used fancy arrows to make it look flowy.  😉

Gideon is one of the judges mentioned. This is what happened after he died: No sooner had Gideon died than the Israelites again prostituted themselves to the Baals. They set up Baal-Berith as their god and did not remember the LORD their God, who had rescued them from the hands of all their enemies on every side. They also failed to show any loyalty to the family of Jerub-Baal (that is, Gideon) in spite of all the good things he had done for them. Judges 8:33-35.

This got me thinking. As soon as Gideon died, they turned away from the Lord. If you can turn away from something that quickly were you really that dedicated in the first place? So to me it sounds like they knew God’s word but didn’t live it; they were living a lie.

How many of us do this same thing? How many of us live a lie because we’re so afraid to let others see the truth? Who’s out there trying to “keep up with the Jones’s?” You’ve spent all this money to appear to live a certain lifestyle but secretly you’re drowning under a sea of debt. Who’s out there trying to be little miss social and always have plans or a date but secretly you’re lonely? Who’s out there trying to make it seem like you have it all together but secretly your life is falling apart around you and you’re screaming on the inside?

Why do we feel like we have to live a lie? It is because we’re afraid of being judged by others? People can be harsh so why do we try so hard to impress them?

But GOD told Samuel, “Looks aren’t everything. Don’t be impressed with his looks and stature. I’ve already eliminated him. GOD judges persons differently than humans do. Men and women look at the face; GOD looks into the heart.” – 1 Samuel 16:7

I know this verse, I’ve told it to D. But do I live it? Not so much. I’m pretty quick to judge others and I’m not a fan when they judge me. So once again I’m a hypocrite and I’m just like the Israelites.  But I’m so thankful that God looks at the inside, sees the ugly truth, and loves us anyway.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

