Why?

1 Mar

I woke up this morning thinking I was ready for what the day held.  It started like any other day. I was sitting on the bed with B and D doing my make-up and telling B what I planned on blogging about today; when I told him the title he just looked at me and shook his head.  (This is not that blog.)  Then I got a text. I thought it was pretty early for someone to be texting me so I couldn’t imagine what it said. I assumed it was something stupid from one of my friends.  I was wrong.  The text was from Karen, B’s step mom, and it said: Brent passed away at 1am today.

I stopped.  You see, Brent is B’s step brother and he was in ICU for over a week now.  They didn’t have a relationship but we have a relationship with Karen.  Let me tell you a little bit about Karen.  She is sweet, loving, hilarious and makes the best margaritas.  She has 3 sons and would do anything for them.  One son needed a kidney; Karen gave him hers.  One son needed help raising his daughter; Karen raises her “part-time.”  Karen would always offer to watch D and let her spend the night when we lived in San Angelo.  Sometimes we took her up on it, but now that we’ve moved, I wish we had more often.  I love Karen and my heart is broken because her heart is broken.

I don’t know how you continue on once you lose a child.  How do you pick your self up off the ground?  How do you stop crying?  How do you not get mad at God?  I constantly pray for D’s health and safety.  If we lost her I think I would go crazy.  I don’t know how I would handle that and I pray I don’t ever find out.

I cried all the way to work this morning.  I was listening to a DCB cd and when it ended I wanted to listen to another DCB cd.  I had to laugh because while switching cds, Daydream Believer by the Monkeys was on the radio.  I love that song and it felt good to laugh.

Will you please lift Karen up in prayer?  I’m thankful that the God I love and serve is a God of peace, comfort and love.  Right now Karen needs a peace that surpasses all understanding and love and comfort that only God can provide.

Karen, I know you aren’t reading this, but my prayers are with you and I love you.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

