A Command and a Promise

21 Feb

“g” and “o” two tiny, unscary little letters. But when you put them together you get one huge, terrifying word.

Go

I know what you’re thinking.  Go is not terrifying.  “Lets go to HEB”, nothing terrifying there.  You’re right, that’s not.  But when God tells you to “Go”  the terrifying factor starts creeping in.  But here’s the great part.  When God tells you to go, He also gives you a promes.

The LORD had said to Abram, “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.  I will make you into a great nation and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing.  I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.”   Gen 12:1-3 NIV

See, I didn’t lie.  God doesn’t call us to live safe lives.  He calls us to live outside of our comfort zone.  But He promises He’ll always be with us.  God told Abram to leave his home, his family, his comfort zone.  God didn’t give him a map, gas money, or even the reassurance that everything was gonna be ok.  No, God gave him something even better – A promise.  Like the amazing Sheila Walsh once said, “When God gives you a promise, you can stake your life on it.”

If you are at a cross roads in your life right now and you know God is calling you to go somewhere or do something, let me encourage you to pray…listen…go.  I know it’s scary, I really do; Ive been there.  If you haven’t read our story, read it here.   Let me warn you though, once you make that decission to go, the enemy will step in as soon as possible.  In our case, it was literally within the hour.  He will use people, he will use fear, he will use temptations, he will use whatever he can to prevent you from doing what God has called you to do.

Brandn preached last week on this topic, and again he did AWESOME.  He’s modest so he won’t toot his own horn (but I’m his wife and modest is a word that has never been used to describe me) so I will toot it for him…toot…toot…tooooooot!  If you have 38 minutes I would encourage you to listen to this.

I hope it will encourage and inspire you to take that huge, terrifying leap of faith.  I can’t tell you to fear not,  because I know you will.  And that’s ok; just don’t allow that fear to control your actions or your lack of action.  Just remember, when God gives you a command He also gives you a promise.  He will never leave your side.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

