Leviticus:20…um what??

9 Feb

Ok, so I’m trudging through Leviticus right now. I think trudging is an adequate adjective to describe my Leviticus experience.  (I want to bang my head against the wall while reading it; if you’ve read it you know w hat I mean.)  This book isn’t quite slapping me across the face like the first part of Exodus did.  I needed to read Exodus.  I was at the same place as the Israelites were; the beginning.  Something new and huge was happening right in front of me, but I was too obsessed with looking back.

I know every thing in the Bible is the word of God so it’s ALL important but while reading this book I can’t help but think, Thank you Jesus!  Seriously if I lived in a day where I had to offer sacrifices for atonement I would live at the Temple and I would never see my family.

I usually read my Bible before bed.  Chapter 20 was part of my reading last night.  I found this chapter seriously disturbing.  Most of this chapter is dedicated to who you can NOT have sex with.  Shouldn’t it just be one sentence? – If you’re not married to them keep your pants up…done…BOOM!

God had to tell men not to have sex with another man’s wife, his mother, his daughter-in-law, his sister, his aunt and animals.  I know sexual fidelity is something  that both men and women struggle with, I get that; I really do.  But the animal part is something I don’t get.  Like I said, I wanted to bang my head against the wall but I didn’t.  I didn’t want my neighbors to get the wrong idea.  I’m sure if they heard banging “Oh, she must be reading Leviticus” is not the thought they would have had. lol

I’m so thankful we live under grace and not the law.  I screw up all the time but I am forgiven not because I offered up a sin offering but because Jesus died on the cross for me.  This is something I will NEVER truly comprehend.  It blows my mind that Jesus knew me and loved me 2000 years ago and He…died…for…me.  He died for you too.  He died so that we would not live a life separated from God.  When Jesus died He cried out “It is finished.”  I don’t think He just meant His suffering on the cross was finished.  I think He meant all suffering was finished.

John 16:33 – I have told you these things so that in me you may find peace.  In this world you will have troubles but take heart for I have overcome the world.

Bad things happen to us and for that, I have no explanation.  I’ve had a lot of crap thrown my way but I know I’ll get through it.  Sometimes I’m walking, sometimes I’m crawling and sometimes I’m kicking and screaming and God is literally dragging me and telling me to shut-up.

So wherever you find yourself today, know that you are special and smile, God loves you.  🙂

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

2 Responses to “Leviticus:20…um what??”

  1. Amanda February 11, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    I love this brain! Makes me laugh and feel normal!

  2. Clarinda Kohrman March 6, 2012 at 5:44 am #

    Simply wanna admit that this is very useful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

Leave a Reply

