Ode to the Ortiz’s

2 Feb

Yes I know an ode is a poem intended to be sung but it was the only thing I could think of that began with an O.

So this time last year we said “See ya later” to the Ortiz family.  We didn’t say good-by because we knew we would see them later.  Not like we’ll see you in heaven later, but like we’ll see you every other weekend for the next 6 months until we move to Austin, later.

Most of you who read my blog know Ray and Chantel but for the few of you that don’t, like my awesome friend in Africa (hi Rikki), here’s a little bit about Ray and Chantel.

We first met them at Christian Faith Center in November 2008, where they were the Youth Pastors.  We told them we wanted to help with the teens and they were excited but first we had to fill out an application/getting to know you novel.  It wasn’t really a novel  but it was at least 8 pages of questions and after we filled it out we just kinda looked at each other and thought we were loosers and there’s no way they want us to help…fast forward to now and we are planting Revive with them so I guess we were way wrong.

Ray: He’s an inspiration, a leader, a mentor and a friend.  I will stop here because he is not my husband and I’m not gonna go on and on b/c that could get awkward.  I will say this though.  From the bottom of my heart thank you for your friendship with Brandn.  Like Pastor Todd used to say “show me your friends and I’ll show you your future,” I am grateful you are his friend.  Proverbs 27:17 sums it up nicely – As iron sharpens iron so one man sharpens another.  Read his blog.

Chantel: Is an inspiration, a leader, a mentor and a friend.  She so calm and collected and usually has it all together.  We went on a girls weekend and we almost died in a car crash and I was screaming “Oh Jesus” (it was either that or a word that begins with an F so I’m quite pleased Jesus came out.)  Anyway, I was screaming like a fool and Chantel just sat there with a calm look on her face.  Now I’m not saying she’s this fly on the wall, no, she’s anything but that!  She just knows when it’s appropriate to get worked up about things and when to let things go.  She’s a fighter, a rock, she’s beautiful and I am honored to be doing life with her.  Read her blog.

I love the Ortiz family!

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

One Response to “Ode to the Ortiz’s”

  1. Chantel February 2, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Aw!!!! We LOVE YOU!!!! So grateful for you guys! One year…so glad we are on this crazy ride together. I quoted you in my blog today! LOL!

Leave a Reply

