Standards

20 Jan

So before I get started let me give you a warning.  I am a very non hip hop girl talking about a hip hop song and I hope I don’t ruin this song for you.  I have been known to ruin things, B calls me “Funruiner.com.”  I’m not allowed to watch James Bond movies with him; if I do, I have to be quiet and not say anything.  So instead I just roll my eyes and give him “whatever” looks.

I have several opinions about this song but I’ll stick with one for now.  She says “I can have another you in a minute.  In fact he’ll be here in a minute.”  Did you figure out the song?  If not, she then says something about moving boxes to the left.

Ok, here’s m my beef – Where are her standards????

She’s kicking this guy out because he was crappy and cheated on her, ok, I get that.  But she wants another guy like him and if he’s gonna be there in a minute that means she already has him.  So she just replaced a piece of crap with another.  Really?  Did she not learn her lesson?

Why, ladies, are we so quick to throw our standards out the window and date whatever guy comes along?  I know I did it in high school.  I dated whatever looser gave me attention and there were a lot of them.

I don’t know why other women habitually date loosers, but here’s why I did it.  I didn’t know who I was; my identity was wrapped up in who I was dating.  Kinda like Julia Roberts in Run Away Bride.  That poor woman didn’t even know what kind of eggs she liked best. My favorite?? Egges Benedict, freaking yummy!

I didn’t have a low self esteem, in fact it was the opposite, I was stuck on myself.  But  I didn’t realize that God loved me and that His love was the only love that mattered.

So the question is How do I find out who I am?  I’ll tell ya, are you ready?  READ YOUR BIBLE!  God tells you who you are.  God says you are beautiful, chosen, you are mine, you are accepted, you are loved.  God created you in your mother’s womb and he knows everything about you.  He knows the ugly truth about you and yet  He.  Still.  Loves. You.

Ladies hear me please.  Love God and love yourself.  Once you realize who you are in Christ you will know what true love is and you will be prepared and well equipped to tell that looser to keep walking.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

One Response to “Standards”

  1. Debbie Camp January 22, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Funruiner.com sounds like the perfect title for my own personal blog. Lol! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on music of this sort. We women need to wise up. This just scratches the surface on an even more disturbing trend of including misogynistic lyrics in some pop/rap music that are so harmfully degrading–an obvious sign of the lack of Christ in our culture.

Leave a Reply

