Forgive Them

16 Jan

So last week we started a series at church called 1 Month to Live. We did it last year at our old church in San Angelo and we’re doing it now at Revive; the series is just that good. Ray, the Lead Pastor, and Tony, the Youth Pastor, are tag teaming the series and Tony spoke yesterday. He said something that got me thinking. He said “If you knew you had 30 days left to live, who would you forgive?  Ok.  Then why aren’t you doing it now?”

Why aren’t you doing it now?  Why can’t we forgive?  We say things like “Well you don’t understand, he did this to me” or “I didn’t do anything wrong, I didn’t deserve that.”  We can’t let stuff go.  We let it fester, and in my opinion, after it festers it becomes way worse than what it originally was.  Jesus didn’t intend for us to live this way.  With one of His last breaths Jesus said “Father forgive them for they know not what they do.”   We have a hard time forgiving people for hurting our feelings or stabbing us in the back yet Jesus forgave the people that crucified Him.  Yeah, I know…He’s Jesus; that’s what He does and we’re all suposed to learn from His life.

We have all been hurt, I know I have.  I spent a long time (almost 10 years) being mad at someone.  I spent years letting something fester and I just couldn’t let it go.  To be honest, it was easier to be mad and blame someone else than it was to be an adult and forgive.  I allowed anger to become my comfort zone.  I have since forgiven this person and now we have reestablished our relationship.

The forgiving process took a long time and sometimes I still struggle with it.  Not because I haven’t completely forgiven but because anger was my attitude for so long that it became a habit, it was what I was used to.  When I felt the anger rising in me I would literally repeat “The renewing of my mind, the renewing of my mind, the renewing of my mind” (part of Romans 12:2) over and over and over again in my head.  I would have to force myself to change my attitude, my facial expression and my tone of voice when I was around this person.

We can’t just pray for forgiveness and it magically happens; if it were that easy then we would all do it.  No, forgive takes time and effort.  It has to be something we really want to do and we have to be willing to let go and put our pride and stubbornness aside and allow ourselves to rise up and move forward.

Col 3:13 – Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against each other.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

