Monday Night Madness

12 Jan

Every Monday night Revive Church meets for a corporate prayer meeting at Monkey Nest.  It is the cutest coffee house and they let us rent their back room for free as long as we order $25 worth of coffee; with our group of people this is not a challenge at all.   Pastor Chris at Experience Life Church says “closet prayer changes people but corporate prayer changes cities.”  We think that’s true;  however, we’re not exactly trying to change Austin.  We love it’s weirdness, technological side, eclecticness, eccentricity, music scene, and pretty much any other adjective.  We’re not trying to change this city, we just want to see a little bit  more of Jesus here.

Since most of us have kids and because kids have this interesting way of interrupting prayer meetings we each take turns babysitting.  Right now the kids consist of one 6 year old boy, two 4 year old girls and one almost 2 year old boy and soon twins will be added to the mix!!  I had the kids this past Monday; the evening started out with dinner and then all madness broke out.  Here is a small example of the things that came out of my mouth in the 1.5 hours they were with me and I’m pretty sure I said each phrase at least 10 times:

– Scooch

– Quit jumping, we live above grumpy people.

– You can dribble the soccer ball, just don’t kick it up in the air.

– He doesn’t have to share, that’s his.

– Don’t play in the bathroom.

– Open that door!

– Yes you can wear the princess dress.

– Say you’re sorry.

– Give hugs.

I could go on but I think these give you a pretty good feel for how a Monday night goes with these kids.  D tells me that they all sit quietly and watch movies at the other mom’s houses and our house is the only one where they get to run around like fools.  I don’t know if I believe this because I know these kids and if they’re together then sitting quietly on the couch watching movies is out of the question. I take that back.  I’ve seen it last a whopping 3 minutes and then  it’s is over.

For right now, a successful Monday night means no bones or any of my stuff broke.  I love these kids and I’m honored to be a part of their lives and watch them grow up.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

3 Responses to “Monday Night Madness”

  1. Chantel January 12, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    They don’t sit still at my house either! Haha! Once it’s warm and the sun stays out longer, we’ll go park side…sounds like a good idea to me. Love these kids and the crazy force of nature they become when they all get together.

  2. w9 form January 31, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

Leave a Reply

