When life doesn’t look like you planned it.

2 Jan

Ok, so you all know we moved to Austin over 5 months ago.  Wow, that sentence is crazy.    It’s hard to believe we’ve already been here 5 months; the time flew by.  We never planned on leaving San Angelo; it never crossed our minds, ever.  But this post isn’t about that.  It’s about how the life I was planning a year ago, before the words “Revive Church” ever entered our vocabulary, doesn’t look anything like the life we are living.  There are so many things about our lives that looks different now, but I will discuss only one for now…

In San Angelo we had 2 very well paying  jobs, insurance, a 3 year old, and a house.  (I’m just gonna say it was an amazing house because  B redid everything by hand and he was one of the best trim carpenters in town.  Yes I’m a biased wife, but it’s totally true and I’m bragging on him.)

D’s cousin Zoey is 11 months older than her; her other cousin Lily is 5 months younger than her.  We didn’t all plan on having a round of girls that close in age, it just happened.  They get together and it’s one big ball of madness and chaos and they love it.  I always thought wouldn’t that be cool if we had a round of boys even closer in age and they all could be buddies.

When we decided to move I knew our round 2 would have to wait.  D’s cousin Oliver was born the week of  Thanksgiving; her other cousin Drake was born 3 weeks later.  It looks like that round of boys happened, without us.  That makes me sad.  I had lunch today with a friend who is pregnant and is due in 3 weeks.

I look at my sweet, baby nephews and my very pregnant friend and I think their lives are the way they planned them.  I’m not saying their lives are easy; I’m just saying their plans happened.  My plan got turned upside down, inside out, got thrown in the washing machine and then hung out to dry.

That’s ok though, it really is.  I’m trying to live out the life God planned for me.  The way I pictured my life is way different then the way God did.  And God always wins so I better go along with what He’s planning.  If not, He might go old testament on me and smite me, and I really don’t want that. lol

God, I give it to you.  I surrender it all – well I’m trying to.  You may have to help me with this one God.  I know what you have planned for me is bigger and way better than I could ever think of or imagine but I’m stubborn and I like to lead.

So I close with this – Jeremiah 29: 11-13 –  For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

3 Responses to “When life doesn’t look like you planned it.”

  1. Tracy January 2, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Love how transparent you are. I think so many of us have “expectations” of what of lives are supposed to look like and when it doesn’t happen, we get frustrated, at least I do. lol I have had to learn this lesson over and over and I think it is one we have to keep learning. Thank you for sharing this, I am a follower! 🙂

  2. Jan Pershing January 9, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    fantastic post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You must continue your writing. I’m sure, you have a great readers’ base already!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What do you do when… | ridiculouskatie - June 19, 2013

    […] you know me, it’s no secret that I want another baby; read that blog here. I stopped taking birth control last month and 2 home pregnancy tests confirmed I was knocked up!! […]

Leave a Reply

