Backpacks part uno

30 Dec

I hope everyone’s Christmas was wonderful.  Ours was, but it looked a little different this year.  On Christmas morning we didn’t open presents first thing, we got dressed and headed downtown to hand out backpacks.  It’s taken me a few days to gather my thoughts, and I have a lot of them so this will be a 2 part blog.

As a church we knew we had to do something.  There is a need in Austin that is mind-blowing; homeless people are everywhere.  I’m not talking homeless people like in San Angelo where the person standing on the corner is holding a sign and talking on a cell phone; you know, the “homeless people” who make you skeptical.  No, I’m talking real homeless people who carry everything they own in a torn up backpack and call the bridge their home. We had to help these people.

I’m proud of Revive Church.  Our church is only 4 months old and we were able to pull together enough stuff and money to fill 38 backpacks with necessities (soup, soap, gloves, hats, lotion and much more.)  16 of us showed up to hand out the 38 backpacks.  Those numbers alone make me smile.  We have a great group of people at Revive.  🙂

As soon as we pulled into the parking lot of the shelter, people saw us and immediately starting walking towards us.  We handed out 38 backpacks and several dozen breakfast burritos in literally 4 minutes.  It was a frenzy and then it was over.  Some of the people hung out and talked with us and you know what?  Homeless people are people too.

One guy showed me a picture of when he had long hair and was in a band.  He said he was not in a good place while in the band and he needed a different lifestyle.  I don’t know what life he was living but being homeless looked  better to him.

There were several men that took 2 burritos and then gave them to their friends that came by after they were gone.  These men, men who have nothing, gave what little they had.  They were doing the same thing we were…seeing a need and  meeting it.

The 30 minutes we were there was amazing and so worth it.  Yet as incredible as it was, I fought back tears the whole way home.  The tears were not because we didn’t have enough stuff and couldn’t help everyone.  I know we mattered to those we were able to help.  The tears were not because I felt guilty for my house and the privileges I have.  Nope, the tears were because…

To be continued tomorrow.  Sorry, I warned you.  😉

6 Responses to “Backpacks part uno”

  1. Debbie Camp December 30, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    The suspense….

    • ridiculouskatie December 30, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      I know right. You have to check back in tomorrow to see what happens next! lol

  2. nancy Feverston December 31, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    Good for you Katie – B’s right-you DO have a knack for written expression and I for one always value your thoughts!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Backpack Outreach 2012 « ridiculouskatie - November 29, 2012

    […] food and backpacks. Let me tell you, those 5 minutes changed me. Read my 2 part blog about that day here. My friend went too, read that blog […]

  2. I got out of the truck! « ridiculouskatie - December 25, 2012

    […] My church is a new (we launched it in Sept 2011) and small church.  However, we are NOT letting the adjetives new and small define us and prevent us from doing what Jesus flat out told us to do.  Last Christmas morning, we headed downtown with backpacks filled with toiletries and breakfast burritos and handed them out to the homeless community here in Austin.  I was terrified.  I stayed in the truck.  I cried the whole way home b/c I was ashamed of myself.  I allowed fear to cripple me and prevent me from helping out in something beautiful.  That day I vowed that next year would be different.  Read that blog here. […]

  3. Big and Little…Let’s do Both!! | ridiculouskatie - December 27, 2013

    […] and we have to do something.” Each year it had gotten progressively bigger: 38 backpacks the 1st year; 50ish backpacks the 2nd year and 100 backpacks this year!!!! Not only is the number of backpacks […]

Leave a Reply

