My taller little sister

17 May

We went to Denton last weekend to celebrate my sister’s graduation.  She graduated from Texas Women’s University with a degree in Dental hygiene.  This is a major accomplishment.  They decided to change the course curriculum while she was in the middle of it and it kinda screwed her over.  She had to take mandatory classes that 2 semesters later were no longer mandatory and she had to put up with a lot of unnecessary crap because the professors couldn’t agree on anything.   Well it’s all over now and whatever dentist hires her is lucky to have her.

I first met Natalie when she was 8 and I was 15 (I think, it was a long time ago.)  Technically she is a step-sister but I love her like a sister and when I talk about her, I call her my sister.  When her mom and my dad first got married I wasn’t the best sister to her.  I was too obsessed with myself and boys to pay much attention to her.  Example:  She broke her thumb playing soccer and had to wear a cast for like 2 months.  I don’t remember this.  We lived in the same house, you would think I would notice a cast on her arm for 2 months, but I didn’t.  I only know she broke her thumb because I saw it an old picture one day and asked about it.

(Me and Nat a VERY long time ago)

Natalie is incredible.  She had some bad things happen to her, stuff that should never happen to anybody.  But she didn’t allow it to turn her into a victim.  She spoke up, got counseling and was able to overcome and come out stronger!  She didn’t succumb to pressure from some family members to “sweep it under the rug” and ignore it.  Nope, she speaks up when something isn’t right.  She did that during college too; she spoke up after she witnessed things her professors doing that were wrong.  It may have cost her some awards at graduation but she realizes doing what’s right is more important that being the “good girl” and getting recognition.

  (My family a long time ago, my arm is around Nat)

She’s smart too!  One day I was telling Debbie about the movie Madagascar.  I said something brilliant like “and they’re stranded on some awesome island like Figi.”  Natalie looked at me and said “Um…it’s called MA-DA-GAS-CAR.”  Her facial expression said it all; what it said was “seriously, you’re stupid.”  I looked at her confused for a second, allowed her ground breaking statement to soak in and then we both started cracking up.  I’ve seen that movie 1 million times and never made the connection.  But like I said, Natalie is smart and caught on right away.

Natalie Bernadette Osborne is beautiful, smart, funny, compassionate, loving, generous and taller than me since she was 10.  She’s my sister, I love her, miss her and am so proud of her!

 (Me and Nat at graduation.  I told you she was tall and beautiful.)

Thanks for allowing me to share my world with you…welcome to my brain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

